Heritage Kingston works to fulfil two equally important functions related to cultural heritage and heritage conservation.

The Committee acts as the City's museum advisory committee with a vested interest in the City's history and museums and other cultural heritage resources. It also ensure that responsibilities are carried out as directed in the Ontario Heritage Act, and also with respect to the City's Official Plan in order to advise Council on applications pertaining to Heritage properties or Heritage Conservation Districts for the purpose of alteration, addition or demolition, and new construction on a designated property; designation or de-designation.

Members also provide input on planning applications which affect protected heritage properties.


Council Members

  • Councillor Doherty
  • Councillor Neill

Citizen Appointees

  • Jennifer Demitor
  • Peter Gower; Chair
  • Zoe Harris
  • William Kelley Hineman
  • Ashley Johnson
  • Matthew McCartney
  • E. Jane McFarlane
  • Jeremy St-Onge
  • Donald Taylor; Vice Chair