

Special City Council Meeting Number 2019-02

The Special Meeting of Kingston City Council was held on Wednesday, December 5, 2018, and was called to order at 4:37 pm in the Council Chamber, City Hall. His Worship Mayor Bryan Paterson presided.

(Council Chamber)

Roll Call

Present: Mayor Paterson, Councillor Boehme, Councillor Chapelle, Councillor

Doherty, Councillor Hill, Councillor Holland, Councillor Hutchison, Councillor Kiley, Councillor M^cLaren, Councillor Neill, Councillor

Oosterhof, Councillor Osanic, Councillor Stroud (arrived at 4:39 pm) (13)

Administrative Staff Present:

Mr. J. Bolognone, City Clerk

Mr. G. Hunt, Chief Administrative Officer

Ms. J. Jaynes, Deputy City Clerk

Ms. R. Morgan, Communications Officer

Approval of Addeds

None.

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

None.

Presentations

None.

Delegations

None.

Briefings

None.

Petitions

None.

Motions of Congratulations,	Recognition,	Sympathy,	Condolences	and Speedy
Recovery				

None.		
Deferred Motions		

None.

Reports

None.

Committee of the Whole

None.

Information Reports

None.

Information Reports from Members of Council

None.

Miscellaneous Business

- **1.** The following Councillors have indicated that they are willing to serve as Deputy Mayor for two-month increments:
 - December 2018 and January 2019 Councillor Stroud
 - February and March 2019 Councillor Chapelle
 - April and May 2019 Councillor Hill
 - June and July 2019 Councillor Neill

As per the resolution approved, Council members will have an opportunity to "trade" time slots in their entirety and report back so that the times can be confirmed by Council at the Council meeting on December 18, 2018.

2. Moved by Councillor Boehme Seconded by Councillor Hill

That the following Members of Council be appointed to serve on the under noted Boards/Committees/Corporations/Forum/Working Group:

Board/Committee/Corporation/ Forum/Working Group	Number of Appointments Required and Length of Term	Names
Administrative Policies Committee	6 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Chapelle Councillor Hill Councillor Holland Councillor Kiley Councillor M ^c Laren Councillor Stroud

Board/Committee/Corporation/ Forum/Working Group	Number of Appointments Required and Length of Term	Names
Arts, Recreation & Community Policies Committee	6 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Boehme Councillor Hill Councillor Hutchison Councillor Neill Councillor Osanic Councillor Stroud
Environment, Infrastructure & Transportation Policies Committee	6 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Doherty Councillor Holland Councillor Neill Councillor Oosterhof Councillor Osanic Councillor Stroud
Planning Committee	6 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Chapelle Councillor Hill Councillor Hutchison Councillor Kiley Councillor Neill Councillor Osanic
Arts Advisory Committee	Up to 2 Councillors (One Member of Council to be a member of the Arts, Recreation and Community Policies Committee)	Councillor Doherty Councillor Neill
Awards Committee	Mayor + 2 Councillors (one year term)	Mayor Paterson Councillor Boehme Councillor Holland
Heritage Kingston	2 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Doherty Councillor Neill
Housing & Homelessness Advisory Committee	2 Councillors (appointed for a two- year term)	Councillor Doherty Councillor Holland
Municipal Accessibility Advisory Committee	1 Councillor (one year term)	Councillor Neill
Nominations Advisory Committee	6 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Chapelle Councillor Doherty Councillor Hutchison Councillor Kiley Councillor Neill Councillor Stroud

Board/Committee/Corporation/ Forum/Working Group	Number of Appointments Required and Length of Term	Names
Appeals Committee	2 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Hutchison Councillor M ^c Laren
Court of Revision (Drainage Act)	3 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Hill Councillor Oosterhof Councillor Osanic
Court of Revision (Municipal Act)	3 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Holland Councillor Kiley Councillor M ^c Laren
Taxi Commission	1 Councillor (one year term)	Councillor Kiley
Cataraqui Region Conservation Authority	4 Councillors (one year term)	Councillor Hill Councillor Kiley Councillor Oosterhof Councillor Osanic
Downtown Kingston BIA Board of Management	2 Councillors + 1 alternate (appointed for the term of Council)	Councillor Boehme Councillor Hill Councillor Hutchison (Alternate)
Kingston Access Services	2 Councillors (appointed for the term of Council)	Councillor Boehme Councillor Holland
Kingston Environmental Advisory Forum	2 Councillors (one year term) (One member of Council to be a member of the Environment, Infrastructure & Transportation Policies Committee)	Councillor Doherty Councillor Neill
Kingston Economic Development Corporation	Mayor + 3 Councillors (one year term)	Mayor Paterson Councillor Boehme Councillor Chapelle Councillor Oosterhof
Kingston & Frontenac Housing Corporation KFL&A Public Health, Board of	2 Councillors (one year term) 3 Councillors	Councillor Doherty Councillor Oosterhof Councillor Holland
Health	(appointed for a two- year term)	Councillor M ^c Laren Councillor Neill

Board/Committee/Corporation/ Forum/Working Group	Number of Appointments Required and Length of Term	Names
Kingston Frontenac Public	1 Councillor	Councillor Kiley
Library Board	(appointed for the term of Council)	
Kingston Police Services Board	Mayor + 1 Councillor (appointed for a two- year term)	Mayor Paterson Councillor M ^c Laren
Rural Advisory Committee	2 Councillors	Councillor Boehme
	(one year term)	Councillor Oosterhof
Rural/Urban Liaison Advisory	Mayor + 2 Councillors	Mayor Paterson
Committee	(one year term)	Councillor Boehme
		Councillor Oosterhof
Sustainable Kingston	1 Councillor	Councillor Neill
Corporation	(one year term)	
Tourism Kingston	Mayor + 2 Councillors	Mayor Paterson
	(one year term)	Councillor Chapelle
		Councillor Stroud
Central Kingston Infill Strategy	2 Councillors	Councillor Doherty
Community Working Group	(one year term)	Councillor Neill

		of Council)	
	Kingston Police Services Board	Mayor + 1 Councillor	Mayor Paterson
		(appointed for a two-	Councillor M ^c Laren
		year term)	
	Rural Advisory Committee	2 Councillors	Councillor Boehme
		(one year term)	Councillor Oosterhof
	Rural/Urban Liaison Advisory	Mayor + 2 Councillors	Mayor Paterson
	Committee	(one year term)	Councillor Boehme
			Councillor Oosterhof
	Sustainable Kingston	1 Councillor	Councillor Neill
	Corporation	(one year term)	
	Tourism Kingston	Mayor + 2 Councillors	Mayor Paterson
		(one year term)	Councillor Chapelle
			Councillor Stroud
	Central Kingston Infill Strategy	2 Councillors	Councillor Doherty
	Community Working Group	(one year term)	Councillor Neill
			Carried
New	Motions		
None			
Notic	es of Motion		
None			
Minut	tes		
None			
Tabli	ng of Documents		
None			
Comr	nunications		

Other Business

None.

By-Law

a) Moved by Councillor Hill Seconded by Councillor Doherty

That By-Law (1) be given its first and second reading.

Carried

b) Moved by Councillor Hill Seconded by Councillor Doherty

That By-Law (1) be given its third reading.

Carried

 (1) A By-Law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its special meeting held on Wednesday, December 5, 2018.
 Three Readings Proposed Number 2019-002

(City Council Meeting Number 2019-02)

Adjournment

Moved by Councillor M^cLaren Seconded by Councillor Doherty

That Council do now adjourn.

Carried

Council adjourned at 5:19 pm.

(Signed) John Bolognone Bryan Paterson

City Clerk Mayor